Join My October Writing Workshop

I’m very excited to announce I’ll be presenting a two-hour writing workshop at the end of October, courtesy of the wonderful Lynette Aspey and The New England Writers’ Centre of New South Wales. Attendance will be via Zoom.

My goal in this workshop is to take you beyond the mundane, confusing, and often misunderstood “rules” of writing so that you can write the story you want to write in the way you want to tell it. Topics covered will include:

  • Why I became a rebel author 
  • What’s important in a story and which so-called “rules” actually matter
  • Show, don’t Tell — the most misleading rule of all
  • Make me care
  • Sex and fight scenes
  • Rhythms in prose — knowing the good from the bad
  • The self-censorship trap
  • When the going gets tough
  • Revision and editing
  • The limitations of critique and writer’s groups
  • Indie or trad pub?

The workshop will take place on October 30 at 10 AM New South Wales time, which in the U.S. corresponds to:

Friday October 29th at 7-9 PM EDT / 6-8 PM CDT / 5-7 PM MDT / 4-6 PM PDT

The cost to attend is AUS$45, or about US$33. Full details and online signup at https://www.newc.org.au/beyond-the-rules-of-writing.html

Hurry! This workshop will fill up fast!

https://www.newc.org.au/beyond-the-rules-of-writing.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Material World, Writing

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s